My Story

The title Skinny Jeans…. As far back as I can remember I have been overweight, the lightest I remember being is 165 pounds. It was over a decade ago {wow that made me feel old}, way back in 2001. I had just lost 50 pounds and I was so happy with my weight. I was still considered overweight for my 5ft 4.5 inch frame. In January I met a sailor who would end up becoming my husband. In May I was packed, including my favorite pair of jeans. A pair of button fly, flares from American Eagle {size 14} <3. We were heading to the east coast. After moving I started gaining weight, I turned to food to comfort me. I was alone during the days and sometimes nights while he was away at work. Before I knew it I was back to 200 pounds, then 215. We had been married awhile and were working on starting a family. In May of 2002 I found out we were expecting. I ended that pregnancy at 250. By the time my princess was turning one we had orders to move again. We moved when she was 18 months old, I weighed 208. After that move I gained again. I was back to 220…230…235. Time to move again, this time he would be deploying. The first deployment for us as a couple, a family. The day he left I weighed 250. I have a picture my daughter took of us that day standing in front on the bridge. I WAS HUGE. He left and I thought l need to lose weight, I don't like being like this. I started exercising, we bought an elliptical. I lost 15 pounds. I joined a gym lost 5 pounds and then another 15 on my own. My hubby returned and I was 35 pounds lighter. We got pregnant, he was deployed again while I was pregnant. I gained back 30 and lost it before he came back home. He came home seven weeks after our daughter was born. I ballooned up to 235 again. Sometime later I started a C25K plan. We were waiting for orders, they never came and we knew his ship was deploying. We moved myself and the girls back home to Michigan. California to Michigan at the end of December, brr. I had just finished the C25K and had planned on keeping up the jogging once I get to MI. However it was too cold for me to jog. I tried it once and my lungs were burning, even six hours later. Since couldn't jog I decided to do Weight Watchers. About a month later it started to warm up and said I wanted to jog, my hubby told me to order a jogging stroller. I got it walked three days and snow, sleet, and freezing rain. It's still on the ground. Yuck!
So here I am today ready to stop spinning my wheels and work toward a healthier life and those SKINNY JEANS!! I bought those jeans in Michigan in 2000 and they have moved from house to house in a box. I haven't wore them since the middle to end of 2001. I started Weight Watchers 5 weeks ago, this is my sixth week. Total lost= 2 pounds. I haven’t done very well. My goal is to be able to wear them by he time my hubby gets home. I own a magnet that says "keep the skinny jeans, miracles happen." I kind of chuckled as I typed that, I would see fitting in jeans (weight lose) as a miracle. SKINNY JEANS here I come.

About thecottagedream

Navy wife of 9 yrs, a stay at home mom of two little girls, aspiring photographer, and I have a dream of remodeling a cottage one day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

