Rudee Whale Watching Tour

My eldest daughter loves animals of all kinds so for her birthday this year I knew what we could do……. dolphin watching!  We are in Virginia so I reached it and they do the dolphin watching in the warmer months but they were doing WHALE watching during this time.  PERFECT!  We told her the plans the night before and she was very excited but REALLY wanted to see a dolphin.

We went to Rudee inlet in Virginia Beach to the Virginia Fishing Center and bought the tickets.  I actually bought the tickets at noon because I expected it to be busy since they said they were spotting whale on most if not all tours. (I had been praying that we would see something, since this was part of Madison’s birthday present.)  We boarded the boat about a half an hour before the scheduled departure time.  Within a few minutes (not sure how long but didn’t seem like long) we see a few spouts!  The spouts alone are amazing.  Seeing the whale shortly after was AMAZING!  We seen whales for a good part of the trip and got a few nice shots.  As we were pulling back in they spoted DOLPHINS.  We had been in the cabin since it had started to rain and I was freezing.  Madison grabbed dad and they ran out and seen them.  The trip was complete! 

Whales!

The picture above, with the tail over the whale behind it… I think it’s my favorite.

Dolphins

A little added insight…  Madison said, “This was just a good as Disney, maybe better since I got to see the dolphins!”

I shared the link for the Winter Wildlife Boat Trip above but here it is again in case you want to check it out.  I found it through the Virginia Aquarium.  We have been the aquarium are planning a trip soon.  We were going to go the same day but didn’t have time.

About thecottagedream

Navy wife of 9 yrs, a stay at home mom of two little girls, aspiring photographer, and I have a dream of remodeling a cottage one day.
This entry was posted in Dolphin, Rudee, Whale. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

